Editorial…

image
image“PEACE”
, we all hope to live in a peaceful world. In fact it is crucial for life. 27th May, 2010 will be marked as a peace making day for Bihar. As His Holiness the Dalai Lama, a man of peace, inaugurated the Buddha Smriti Park here in Patna, on the occasion of Buddha Purnima. Lord Buddha who himself is symbolic of peace; the park is built to commemorate his 2550th anniversary of ‘mahanirvana’ (salvation). Since creating world peace is the basic object of lions clubs, I dedicate this souvenir to all the peace establishing processes going around the world.
Being the youngest member of our club, I feel privileged to get an opportunity to edit this souvenir. And of course it’s a great pleasure for me to present it on the auspicious day i.e. 43rd installation ceremony of my father Lion Santosh kr., as a president of Lions club of Patliputra. It is a time to be grateful and to celebrate. It is also a time for retrospection, to plan out creative strategies and take fresh initiatives. I wish our new president and the respective team members a successful lionistic year ahead. And hope during their office bearing the club excels in its service.
I take this opportunity to thank all those who had extended their co-operation and those who had helped us in many other ways. My sincere thanks to our Governor of Bihar Debanand Konwar for sending his invaluable message of appreciation, for this occasion, which would be treasured for lifetime by our club. I cannot forget but acknowledge in gratitude our senior lion members for their encouraging messages, guidance and advice. And I am grateful to our Chief Guest, Guest of Honour, Installing officer, Lion dignitaries and distinguished guests for their gracious presence on this occasion. My appreciation also goes to our advertisers and press in bringing out this souvenir.

Last but not the least… some credit goes to me also, as beside editing, I have designed the cover page as well and have tried to give the souvenir a new look.
I wish our club contributes towards building up a peace-loving and progressive society at large. These words of John Lennon are only but befitting to express my heart’s deepest sentiments, as I end up;

Imagine
Imagine there’s no heaven… It’s easy if you try
No hell below us… Above us only sky
Imagine all the people living for today…
Imagine there’s no countries… It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for… And no religion too
Imagine all the people living life in peace
Imagine no possessions… I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger… A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people sharing all the world…
You may say I’m a dreamer…
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us…
And the world will be as one

Hoping for a peaceful world!

Thank you.
Tripti.

(My editorship at a Voluntary Organisation http://www.lionsclubs.org)

Leave a Reply

